Skip to Main Content

Barbara Bowman recognized as a Chicago History Maker

The Chicago History Museum honored Barbara Bowman, the Irving B. Harris Professor of Child Development and Erikson co-founder, with the Jane Addams History Maker Award for Distinction in Social Services.

The award was presented at the Seventeenth Annual Making History Awards ceremony on June 8.

Watch the video profiling this year’s award winners:


This year’s honorees also included:

  • Renée Crown: Bertha Honoré Palmer History Maker Award for Distinction in Civic Leadership
  • Bill Kurtis and Donna LaPietra: Joseph Medill Award for Distinction in Journalism and Communications
  • Illinois Tool Works Inc.: Cyrus McCormick History Maker Award for Historic Corporate Achievement

Honorees were chosen for their demonstrated passion and commitment to Chicago. Previous honorees include Studs Terkel, Ann Landers, Sister Rosemary Connelly, Ramsey Lewis, Maria Tallchief, Franz Jackson, and Minnie Minoso.

Join the Erikson family with monthly news + events updates shared by academics, community members, and families.

Featured News & Press

Explore More Erikson News & Press

See All News & Press